An ode to a “Friend”


People are never what they seem
some might be like visions from a dream
Some may pretend to care and be fair
some may be truthful to challenge and dare

some might be funny, some sportive
some do everything with an ulterior motive
shoud there come a time when i reach out you
with an arm stretched across, wide open

would come to my aid, would you care
would you not just promise, but actually be there?
would do you do a random act of kindness
or look to achieve your aim in total blindness

all that you see , and all the flowers you’ve trampled
all the pages of friendship that you’ve crumpled
Put up a great act of perfection,a charade
But watch out, I see through your masquerade

I see through your hidden slithery tricky acts, I barge
I can elaborately scatter your camouflage
When the big bad world breaks my heart, my soul
And I am nowhere near my preset life’s goal

This is a time when i reach out you
with an arm stretched across, wide open
would come to my aid, would you care
would you not just promise, but actually be there?

In your special way, you’ve elaborated the wear
the crack in your soul, the albatross you bear
I am least surprised when you surface the real you
This is definitely not something out of the blue

You are you, and I am me, now clearly I see
somethings are never meant to survive, to be
I reached out to a friend, with memories of mead
only to find a fiend in there, instead.

Leave a Reply

